Dehoyas Elected Tax Assessor-Collector; Johnson and Young in Runoff


FLOYD COUNTY, TX – One of two countywide races was decided on Tuesday night, with the other heading for a runoff in May.

Priscilla Dehoyas received 58 percent of the vote for Tax Assessor-Collector to defeat Cristina Chavarria in the only countywide election on all Republican ballots.

The second race only involved voters in Precinct 3, who were voting for a new County Commissioner to replace Nathan Johnson, who is retiring. However, at the night’s end, no candidate had more than 50 percent of the vote, so the top two finishers – Tanner Johnson and Tanner Rance Young – will now meet in a runoff election in May. Johnson received 38 percent of the vote, Young claimed 34 percent, and Talon Cruise collected 28 percent.

In the race for State Representative, the incumbent and Lubbock attorney Dustin Burrows appears to have defeated Brownfield farmer and business owner Wade Cowan to represent Floyd County in House District 83.

All results are unofficial until certified by the County Commissioners Court.

UPDATED: All results are unofficial until certified by Kerry Pratt, the Floyd County Republican Party Chairman.

Here are the final vote totals in the Republican Primary as reported by the Floyd County Clerk’s Office.

State Rep. District 83
Dustin Burrows (I) – 563
Wade Cowan – 224

County Tax Assessor-Collector
Priscilla Dehoyas – 476
Cristina Chavarria – 342

County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Tanner Johnson – 44
Tanner Rance Young – 40
Talon Cruise – 33

Recommended Posts